Parent gifts for Christmas- Mod Podge Tile Coasters

20151230-125249.jpg

Three years ago for Christmas (when my youngest was born in 2012) I had a great idea to make handprint and footprint tiles as Christmas presents for the grandparents. Well, I did one complete set for myself (daughter hands and a fingerprint flower and my son’s 2 1/2 month old feet). I went out and bought a ton of tiles to do this project. When all was said and done with the project I ended up having a complete set for myself and that was it. Life with a newborn and 2 1/2 year old must have been a little crazy at that time 🙂

Fast forward to December 2015 and I am finally getting a chance to really go through some things (mainly because I was looking for my passport since I am going to the Dominican Republic in January) and I come across a Menard’s bag full of ceramic tiles. The light bulb went off then on what I was going to make my kiddos at school for their Christmas present. I remembered seeing an awesome craft on Pinterest where you Mod Podge a picture to a coaster.

So I made a quick little sign that said Kindergarten 2015-2016 and had each student come up and stand in front of the door and I snapped a picture of them. I immediately sent them to Walgreens (using a 40% off coupon) and ended up only paying around 4 dollars for my entire group. After counting the tiles I had lying around at home I only needed 11 more and went to Menards, which had them on sale for 10 cents a piece. I ended up spending around $5 total to make our whole class set of tiles.

I cut the pictures out into 4×4 squares and applied mod podge to the back of the picture and stuck it on the tile. After it was dry I added a layer of Mod Podge on top of the picture and coaster to set it.

I didn’t exactly know what I wanted to do with them. I could put the felt on the back and have them use them as coasters but I thought to myself, If I were receiving this gift from my child would I want to use it as a coaster? The answer was NO. So, I took to Pinterest and found these super easy and cute easels made out of popsicle sticks. I used hot glue instead of craft glue because that is what I had.

20151230-130800.jpg

When I handed them out the parents who were at our party absolutely loved them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

