Clothesline matching activity

clotheslinenumbermatch1 I can’t remember where I first saw this activity at, somewhere on Pinterest I’m sure. Out of different colored construction paper I made 20 shirts and 20 jeans. Each shirt had a different amount of dots from 1-20 on them. I think I used the eraser of a pencil and dipped it into black ink. On the jeans I wrote out the numbers 1-20 (1,2,3,4, etc…). From one end of my bookshelf to the other I hung yarn. I tied it around a command strip hook so that it was easy to take off and put back up again when we needed it. The students would match the dots to the written numeral and hang them together on the clothesline. It was an easy activity for them to do independently and I was able to check their work very quickly since I made them put them up in order. (At the beginning of the year I just had them match them not in order since that was a difficult concept for them still). clotheslinenumbermatchDon’t mind the junk on the bottom shelf!

Leave a Reply

