Very Hungry Caterpillar 1st Birthday Party Overview

connerbdaybanner For my son’s 1st birthday I wanted a fun theme and something that would be memorable for years to come. Plus there will only be a limited number of years that I get to choose what his “theme” for his birthday will be. If my husband had any say it would be Denver Broncos every year. My favorite childhood book is by far The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. Since I am on summer break I had a little “extra” time, between 2 kids the extra time is nap/rest time and after they go to bed at night, to make something crafty for his party.

We debated where to have his party and ultimately decided that since we were getting a cabin at a local campground for Father’s Day anyways we would just have it there so we didn’t have to splurge and have it somewhere else (our house is just too small for a lot of people).

I will go over a quick overview in this post and then post more details about everything in their own posts. For the banner I used my Cricut and the Plantin SchoolBook cartridge for the circles, letters, apple, everything! I then used colored brads to link each body section to each other and that way I could manipulate it how I wanted. Then I used a thin red ribbon to connect the top to the bottom and extra off the ends to hang it up. When I made it we still didn’t have a definite location for the party and in reality there was nowhere to tie it down to so I ended up just using tape to keep it all up.

connerbdaymonthbanner

Each month for the first year I took monthly pictures of my son with stickers that I bought through Pickysticky.  I then used the same method with my Cricut to make a monthly picture caterpillar. Yes, I realize I forgot the antennae but by the time I realized that it was too late.

connerbdayinvite

In keeping with the theme the first thing I made were his invitations of course! The recipients of these invitations LOVED them. Read more about how I made these here.

connerbdayguestbook

Guestbook- I decided on making a fingerprint guestbook that I put in a document frame and hung in his bedroom. Check out the details here!

connerbdaytreatfavor1

For party favors guests made butterfly treat bags. I kind of felt like it was Christmas in June because the majority of the candy I got was red/green to go with the color scheme. Check out the favor bags here!

connerbdayfoodtable

For the party food we used the foods that the caterpillar ate through in the story. I found the cutest labels online and made stands for them. Check out more details here!

connerbdayeggcarton2

connerbdaycoffeefilter1

We had two children activities for our younger guests to do while at the party. One activity was Egg Carton Caterpillars and the second activity was Coffee Filter Butterflies. Read about them here!

connerbdaycake

I searched all over for the perfect cake to fit my theme. NOWHERE has The Very Hungry Caterpillar. So I had to resort to DIY on the cake, which I was kind of afraid to attempt. But I think it turned out pretty darn cute! Check out the details here!

I had a BLAST putting this party together and the guests definitely noticed all my details. I think the majority of people said I know you’re a teacher because….

Leave a Reply

