Very Hungry Caterpillar Cake

connerbdaycake

For my son’s 1st birthday the theme was based on the children’s book The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. I am not a baker by any means so naturally I went out to the local bakeries in search of the perfect cake and smash cake to fit my theme. What did I find? Absolutely NOTHING! So where do I turn when I need an idea? That’s right again, Pinterest! I stumbled upon this website with the idea for the cake.  This website gave me the inspiration for Conner’s cake.  I used a 6″ round cake pan for the head, which also doubled as Conner’s smash cake. Then I drew the eyes and nose on with icing tubes. For the cupcakes I made chocolate and vanilla. It is hard to see in this picture but the chocolate cupcakes had a little lighter shade of green for the frosting than the vanilla cupcakes. Since Eric Carle uses varying shades of colors I thought different shades of green for the frosting would be great. For the backboard that the cake is on I also got the idea from the above website since all the materials I would need were easily accessible. I found an unused cardboard box that use to house a large object and then I went to my work and got some white butcher paper to cover the cardboard. Before I glued the paper to the cardboard I drew circles in colored pencil over the entire piece of butcher paper to go with the circle theme that keeps presenting itself in the book. After all the circles were drawn and colored in I attached the butcher paper to the cardboard box using craft glue and probably a few glue dots. Then I busted out the Cricut to make the lettering for the board. Now since I didn’t have the cupcakes made I just laid out the cupcake liners, by the way I found the bright lime green ones at Hobby Lobby, in the shape of the caterpillar so I would know where to place the letters.

Here’s a picture of my little man digging into his cake!

connerbdaycake1

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Very Hungry Caterpillar 1st Birthday Party Overview | My Attempts at Being Creative!

Leave a Reply

